IndiaDivine.org

[100% veg*n ] vegan birthday cake

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

that was stupid and ridiculous

no wonder the SF examiner is failing

"swpgh01.t21" Jul 15, 2009 3:28 PM vegan-network [100% veg*n ] vegan birthday cake

As a chef for a catering company in Sacramento California, I have received requests for unusual foods, ethnic foods, fish and game. Recently my office manager booked a small birthday party featuring a vegan birthday cake.The price was agreed on, the contract was signed Melange Catering was committed.tried to pass this assignment off to our baker but she declined citing a rare and exotic illness. I suspected she just wasn't up to the challenge of the vegans.With no one else to hand it off to I decided I would give it go. Let me say first off I am a chef not a baker. I bake on occasion but the results are less than the perfection people expect when they are paying you.I do bake bread and cinnamon rolls but when it comes to fancy confections I feel it is best to leave it to the professionals.I met with the vegans, an intense group of lesbians, to get an idea of what they expected. Lesbians are usually easy to please when it comes to food but not the vegans.Vegan adhere to a higher standard than the rest of us. A vegan will not eat any animal products or any product that may have been used by animals to make the product or any product that an animal may have once looked at.I found a recipe and armed with a list of ingredients, off to the market I went.The recipe called for margarine and something called soy milk. I stood in front of the dairy case and stared at the assorted tubs, everything had milk in it and other stuff that I couldn't identify but was sure would not be good for you.As I stood there reading ingredients I began to realize why the vegans were so intense. It wasn't easy to be a vegan and I was sure nothing they ate could have any flavor.I wasn't able to find a substitute for the butter so I called my client and