Jump to content
IndiaDivine.org

City Guide 101: Where can I dine vegan in Chicago?

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

Guest guest

There are restaurant categories where an extensive menu of vegetarian options

are available. Those that serve Middle Eastern, traditional African and Italian

food tend to have vegetarian plates but be certain that the dishes are not

prepared in meat stocks.

 

Also, many Jewish delis will be very specific about which items contain meat or

dairy or neither. A Kosher Parve distinction means the food is fully acceptable

for a vegetarian diner. Though eggs or fish are Parve acceptable, vegans look

for Kosher symbols to avoid less obvious ingredients like gelatin (made with an

animal enzyme and found in foods like jello or marshmallows).

 

Area of Interest: Devon Avenue runs through Rogers Park and west to O'Hare

Airport. The markets, restaurants, and bakeries cater to residents from India,

Pakistan, Bangladesh and a large Jewish Orthodox community.

 

There are additional markets and restaurants in the Hyde Park neighborhood that

provide Kosher options for the significant Jewish population in that area.

 

Pizza: Many places will prepare pizza with vegan (soy) cheese by request and

gaurantee a fully meat/dairy free dinner. However, this varies from location to

location so it is best to research them in advance. Ian's Pizza in

Wrigleyville,

 

Grocers: Whole Foods grocery store has a well-stocked lunch counter with

vegetarian, vegan, and organic foods. The Jewel on North Howard (also near

Devon Avenue) has a large selection of Kosher freshly prepared food. Trader

Joe's is a small organic grocer that sells vegan items and though their variety

is limited their prices are low and reasonable.

 

Restaurants: VegIllinois maintains a comprehensive list of restaurants by area

and details if they have vegetarian or vegan menu items. This resource is

constantly updated and covers the entire state. Chicago Diner is perhaps the

only place of its kind in the city. They apply meat free philosophy to

traditional diner fare: nachos, sliders, shakes and more. Their bakery carries

a large selection of vegan and gluton free treats as well.

 

Check out more:

 

Arya Bhavan- fully meat free Indian restaurant

Green Zebra - fully meat free, though the level of cheese used in many of their

plates makes them less vegan friendly than Chicago diner

Urban Spoon - a website devoted to foodies, restaurant menus and reviews with a

section for veggie-lovers

Ethiopian Diamond - North African food with a great hang-out atmosphere, meat

and meat free options

 

 

Author: Rachel Slager

Rachel Slager is an Examiner from Chicago

http://www.examiner.com/x-2599-Chicago-City-Guide-Examiner~y2009m7d17-City-Guide\

-101-Where-can-I-dine-vegan-in-Chicago

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...