IndiaDivine.org

Why do so many raw foodists have bad teeth?

Rate this topic

Guest guest

I'm kind of new at this, but I notice, so many raw

foodists have terrible teeth. I have very nice teeth

right now, and I don't want to go on this diet and

have them be ruined... what have everyone's

experiences been on this diet in regard to this issue?

I've heard of raw foodists teeth having problems, but haven't

heard/seen much first hand.

My teeth were already having challenges before going raw. While

eating anything raw may help the transition to raw and help keep a

person raw, there may be foods that may cause more problems with the

teeth. Raw vinegar is a wonderful and versatile flavoring, but I feel

it affect my teeth. My teeth have felt healthier when I don't use it.

Many fruits we get here are shipped from long distances, so are

picked early. This may cause them to be more acidic. Citrus is one

example. You'll probably notice when some are especially acidic.

I wouldn't worry too much about it, but it's good to be aware of.

If your teeth are a concern, then I would focus on eating plenty of

fresh organic greens. As some may remind you, eating foods by

themselves, one food at a time (one per meal) is the ideal in terms

of ease of digestions. I've noticed when applying this to greens, and

not using dressings, my teeth feel better. They seem to draw minerals

right from the greens! Now, if I could only eat like that 100% of the

time. Once in a while I go back to mixed raw foods and using raw

dressings, etc. and my teeth don't feel quite as healthy.

John mentioned to me recently that Viktoras Kulvinskas, at the recent

festival (I was at my booth), said to brush with clay, which

re-mineralizes teeth. He apparently said 4 times a day and in a month

they should be re-mineralized. I've started using some clay from PCC

recently, but can't give you much feedback yet. PCC had some in bulk