Guest guest

Guest guest

Hello,

I am just beginning this new fatfree vegan journey after learning I

have cardiavascular disease. Quite a surprise as I have always been

careful of my eating habits, am not overweight or have diabetes. I

have also exercised throughout my life.

So, I am looking for any advice to begin as I am very determined to be

successful, but don't know where to start.

Lucy

Guest guest

Hi, and welcome, Lucy!

Good on you for being determined to tackle this with your diet.

What's your diet like at the moment? Do you eat meat and dairy products?

When I made the change from omni to vegan four years ago, I intended to

do it gradually. But I started reading about the health and ethical

reasons for veganism, and made the transition in less than six weeks. I

just didn't feel like putting those things in my mouth any more!

'Mad Cowboy' by Howard Lyman was really influential for me.

Recently, I've been listening to the podcasts on Compassionatecooks.com

- and I highly recommend them.

As for suitable recipes, you could cook something different from the

files at fatfreevegan.com for every meal for a long time, there's so

many recipes there!

Best wishes

Alice

On 4 Aug 2008, at 06:03, Lucy wrote:

> Hello,

> I am just beginning this new fatfree vegan journey after learning I

> have cardiavascular disease. Quite a surprise as I have always been

> careful of my eating habits, am not overweight or have diabetes. I

> have also exercised throughout my life.

> So, I am looking for any advice to begin as I am very determined to be

> successful, but don't know where to start.

> Lucy

Guest guest