IndiaDivine.org

OT: what's vegan -- probiotic bacteria

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

This is off topic, but relates to the " is mold vegan? " question.

I've been making kefir (it is not made with milk). Kefir is fermented

with some combination of bacteria and yeasts (I'm new to this process

and still learning) and, like most " real " fermented foods it is

probiotic (good for gut bacteria). I'm bringing some over to a

potluck next week -- and one of the people is vegan. I'm pretty sure

that probiotic bacteria would be considered vegan but I've really

never thought about it before.

Writing this, I'm realizing that I brought homemade (probiotic)

sauerkraut to a potluck LAST week and labelled it as " vegan " . I hope

that wasn't wrong!

I suppose this gets to the question of " what is an animal? "

Apparently honey bees count as animals (since honey is CLEARLY not

vegan) -- so, um, bees are an insect.

I have not heard of any vegan issues about fermentation or

probiotics, so I think it MUST be okay...... it's just I've not

thought about it before.

Anyone have opinions or official edicts on this?

Moria

At 10:20 AM 5/2/2009, you wrote:

>Re: OT: Beano

> Posted by: " Jenn " batmanusdmychina batmanusdmychina

> Fri May 1, 2009 5:42 pm ((PDT))

>

>Mold is neither plant or animal - it is a fungus, just as mushrooms

>are , so if you consider mushrooms to be vegan, you will have to

>also consider the mold to be vegan as well. Aspergilus niger is also

>often found in yogurt, both soy and dairy versions.

>

>--- On Fri, 5/1/09, Martha <mnatural22 wrote:

>

>Martha <mnatural22

>

>The label of both Beano and Bean-Zyme (a product costing half that

>of Beano) tablets list alpha-galactosidase enzyme (from Aspergilus

>niger, food grade mold) as the only ingredient. So I guess it all

>depends whether one considers mold to be vegan or not. One thing I

>think we can all agree on is that it's not animal.

>

>Martha

Guest guest

Moria,