Guest guest

Guest guest

Ian

I will have to dig around a bit but I can support my theory

give me a week or two

and Catherine I meant no disrespect either

all the best

Craig

Ian McDonald [ian]Monday, April 26, 2004 12:19 AM Subject: Re: Re: [100% veg*n ] Alzheimers=CJD???catherine:> before 1900 most people died at or before 60, so alzheimers would have been less prevalent > due to the nature of the> population.......Craig Dearth wrote:> > not trueObviously, you're not arguing from evidence, but predicting somethingbased on your hypothesis about Alzheimers being a prion disease.> BSE seems to be incubate in relation to the lifespan of the animal in> which has consumed it> cows it takes about 5-8 years> humans about 20Catherine was talking about Dementias in general, not Alzheimers, andyou only seem to be claiming a prion link for Alzheimers. Remember, thethread is "Alzheimers=CJD" (I'm no expert, but from what I know theAlzheimers and CJD have very different symptoms anyway).As it happens, my recollection is that Dementias were common pre-1900,but this is only based on dimly remembered anecdotal evidence. It soundslike Catherine is speaking from survey evidence (the word is'epidemiological'), and I'd change my mind if she produced convincingevidence.> the on set of dementia on a large scale didn't start happening till> after world war IIWhat are your reasons for saying this? (I'm really looking for a sourceI can follow up here.) It doesn't match with my recollection.> which just happens to coincide with when they started feeding animal> parts back to the WRONG animalsI'll trust you on that one; it sounds feasible. However, your hypothesis (that Alzheimers is a prion disesase) wouldpredict that Alzheimers (not dementia in general) would risedramatically in all adult age groups (older than the twenty-yearincubation period) starting in the late 1960s (twenty years afterpost-WWII start of factory farming). Your data do not agree with yourhypothesis.If you really wa