IndiaDivine.org

Re:Round up your friends to buy BK Burgers

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

I was a substitute teacher for 5 years. In those 5 years I came across many children in many different communities. Most of them poor and uneducated. Sometimes I would bring up nutrition issues and just teach them the word vegetarianism. I would not preach because I didn't think that was appropriate to use my position in such a way...but I did want to expose them to the concept.

Guess what? Not one knew what it meant. Most thought it was an "animal doctor". Even worse, many of the kids, who had thoughtless parents, rarely ate a vegetable (or knew what one was) and many ate most of their meals at fast food places. Unfortunates indeed.

At least with this small token, and the fact that some of the fast food places are offering salads now...it's a little offering to the many, many children who grow up in homes that have no concept of healthy eating and/or who are not exposed to plant based foods. At least they will see from the experience, that yes, burgers do not have to have beef and yes, maybe a veggie burger can fill you up, and yes maybe salads are good. For many fast food is the only food...unbelievable as it is...but LA and other metropolisis have many communities like this. This maybe their only chance.

Kristina

In a message dated 6/1/04 3:37:55 AM Pacific Daylight Time, writes: