IndiaDivine.org

A substitute for meat

Rate this topic

Guest guest

"Candace Selph" <candaceRe: Hellooooo!I am not a vegetarian at this time. I am not going to make excuses or givereasons for why I'm not a vegetarian (was a long time ago)... Just going toask for some tips and advice about becoming one while living with a familyfull of carniverous.I do try to eat vegetarian as much as possible. I even managed to get myhusband to eat at Zen Palate the other day.My husband told me that if I could cook dishes that taste that way he wouldeat more vegetarian dishes... <sigh>I'm a good cook, but I have no idea how to make pecans taste like "chicken"in sweet and sour delights.So - anyone have any tips on:making dishes that are vegetarian but will fool a meat eater.what substitutions will work in the recipes I already have so my family canhave their comfort foods?how to gradually wean people off of meat?Thank you,Candace

Hi Candace!

One good way of persuading meat-eaters to eat vegetarian is to substitute Quorn for the meat. Not sure if Quorn is available world-wide, but here in the UK you can buy it in supermarkets. It's basically a mico-protein made from, I think, mushrooms and it looks like chicken. It's available as pieces and fillets and also in a "chunk" so you can roast it, as well as ready-made meals. When cooked, it has a sort of chicken-y taste, and my 13-year-old son loves it!

It's useful because it can be cooked so many ways, even on a BBQ, and it's great when you're cooking for a household of meat-eaters and vegetarians as both can eat the same things, except for meat/Quorn.

Hope that's of some help?

Best wishes

Maz

great! thank you!

I'll definitely look into it!

Candace

-

Laura Schauble

Friday, November 30, 2001 3:33 PM

Re: A substitute for meat

I'm a good cook, but I have no idea how to make pecans taste like "chicken"in sweet and sour delights