IndiaDivine.org

antibacterial soap

Rate this topic

Guest guest

A word on anything antibacterial. Don't use it! I'm a scientist and the sale of antibacterial soap is a scam and a bad one. They put in an old and common antibacterial agent so they can claim this going on the theory that people are scared of germs and will buy it over normal soap. What really happens is that soap all on its own kills bacteria and viruses by disrupting the cell membranes, thus killing the cells. So, if you wash your hands for 30 seconds a time (as long as it takes to sing happy birthday song), you kill the bacteria anyways without the addtional agents. All the antibiotics do is breed super bacteria that are resistanct to this and similar antibiotics. Think antibiotic resistant infections. And true, the bacteria in your sink probably aren't the bacteria killing folks, but they do swap spit. OK, so bacteria aren't sexual critters, true, but they do have lateral transmission and bacteria found thousands of miles away from paranoid human have been found that are resistant to common drugs. So, please, ditch the fancy stuff and rely on basic, cheaper and more environmentally friendly soaps for your hands and dishes, for the sake of the sick people and critters... please

Genie

HotJobs, a service - Search Thousands of New Jobs

, genie bottle <geniesflower> wrote:

>

> A word on anything antibacterial. Don't use it! ...

All the antibiotics do is breed super bacteria that are resistanct to this and

similar antibiotics. Think antibiotic resistant infections. So, please, ditch

the fancy stuff and rely on basic, cheaper and more environmentally friendly

soaps for your hands and dishes, for the sake of the sick people and

critters... please

> Genie

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Excellent advice, Genie. I especially liked the part about singing a happy tune

whilst I wash my hands; think I'll pass on the 'happy b-day song' though.

Any better suggestions? *lol*

~ P_T ~