IndiaDivine.org

Susan R. - thyroid, info, seitan meat substitutes, and more :)

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Hi, Susan! :)

(((Thanks for your warm welcome!)))

Nice to meet you!

Hi and welcome Cherie!

I am glad you found a great doctor that diagnosed you correctly. How are you feeling now you know how you need to eat?

Well, I am still learning about what to eat and what to avoid - - - new info is coming up from research all the time...Just last night, I read that people with slow thyroids should not eat millet grain! That was a close one for me, in a way, as I was intending to shop at the local health food store this morning..and, one new item on my list had been millet! *oh, well! lol!* Guess I was lucky I didn't buy it, then find out after I was cooking a millet recipe....

(I surf to about.com and put hypothyroid into the search engine. Many, many good links come up :)

as for the meat subsitutes:

Are you talking about those meat substitutes like the canned products of Loma Linda brand? Or is this something different I don't know about.

Seitan = gluten "meat" - many vegetarian meat substitutes (vegetarian "salami" and "bologna" or "steaks") are made primarilly of wheat gluten.

The problem, for me, with commercial products - they all seem to contain soy products...this is why I am wanting to make my own, and have found a few good sites with recipes for making the gluten meat substitute (it is a dough), and then using it to create various non-meat loafs, patties, sausages, pastrami, etc...

SEITAN--THE VEGETARIAN WHEAT MEAT -- The Vegetarian Resource Group

http://www.vrg.org/recipes/vjseitan.htm

Favorite Seitan Gluten Roasts -- The Recipe Box -- Ellen's Kitchen

http://www.ellenskitchen.com/recipebox/wheaties.html

Vegan Seitan

http://vegweb.com/food/subs/index-subs-seitan.shtml