Guest guest Posted October 27, 2004 Report Share Posted October 27, 2004 Does anyone know if there is a vegetarian alternative for gelatin? My daughter has quit eating anything that comes from dead animals and since gelatin is made from bones, hide, etc. I can no longer use it in any recipe that she is going to eat. Thanks for any help on this. Shannon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted October 27, 2004 Report Share Posted October 27, 2004 Yes, You can buy an alternative in just about any health food store. --- Daniel & Shannon <redneck wrote: Does anyone know if there is a vegetarian alternative for gelatin? My daughter has quit eating anything that comes from dead animals and since gelatin is made from bones, hide, etc. I can no longer use it in any recipe that she is going to eat. Thanks for any help on this. Shannon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted October 28, 2004 Report Share Posted October 28, 2004 Natural food stores carry agar agar which is a gelatin developed from seaweed. Another title for this seaweed product is carrageen - Jenny ______________________________\ _____________ Daniel & Shannon wrote: > > Does anyone know if there is a vegetarian alternative for gelatin? My > daughter has quit eating anything that comes from dead animals and > since gelatin is made from bones, hide, etc. I can no longer use it in > any recipe that she is going to eat. > > Thanks for any help on this. > Shannon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted October 30, 2004 Report Share Posted October 30, 2004 I want to thank everyone for the info on gelatin alternatives. You all have been a big help. Now does anyone know how to make vegetarian marshmallows? Thanks Again, Shannon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted October 30, 2004 Report Share Posted October 30, 2004 Veg-Recipes , " Daniel & Shannon " <redneck@s...> wrote: > > Does anyone know if there is a vegetarian alternative for gelatin? If you would like to buy an already-prepared product instead of mixing all this stuff using agar, there is a product that comes in a box called Haines Superfruits. I buy it at the health foods store. It comes in cherry, orange and strawberry. From my experience, it doesn't set up quite as firmly as jello, with the amount of water they recommend, so I just use a little less water. cheryll Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.