Guest guest Posted March 21, 2005 Report Share Posted March 21, 2005 On Mar 21, 2005, at 2:15 PM, LaVonne Ellis wrote: > > > I've been told that some vinegar is gluten-free and some isn't. Anybody > know which is which? I like balsamic vinegar on my salads. Is that ok? > Malt vinegar is not GF. Otherwise, as long as you verify that there are no added colors or flavors to your vinegar, it should be safe. If there are additives, call to verify. ygg Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 22, 2005 Report Share Posted March 22, 2005 LaVonne, my understanding is that we have to avoid the balsamic vinegars that have suphites added as a preservative. For that reason mainly, I get organic balsamic vinegar. It's a LOT more money, but I love the flavour and use it sparingly, so it's worth it to me. I also understand that " malt " vinegar must be avoided, because it is based on gluten-grains. But wine vinegars and cider vinegars are generally fine... again though, read the labels to avoid sulphites. Deborah I've been told that some vinegar is gluten-free and some isn't. Anybody know which is which? I like balsamic vinegar on my salads. Is that ok? LaVonne Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 22, 2005 Report Share Posted March 22, 2005 Let us not forget the potentially problematic Distilled vinegar or Grain vinegar. Either of which can have wheat as part of their makeup. My understanding is that sulfates occur naturally in all wine products, vinegar included. I use balsamic vinegar and wine vinegars without trouble. Rice vinegar is also lovely to cook with. Tom Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 22, 2005 Report Share Posted March 22, 2005 all vinegar is fine except for malt vinegar on 3/21/05 8:57 PM, Deborah Pageau at dpageau wrote: LaVonne, my understanding is that we have to avoid the balsamic vinegars that have suphites added as a preservative. For that reason mainly, I get organic balsamic vinegar. It's a LOT more money, but I love the flavour and use it sparingly, so it's worth it to me. I also understand that " malt " vinegar must be avoided, because it is based on gluten-grains. But wine vinegars and cider vinegars are generally fine... again though, read the labels to avoid sulphites. Deborah I've been told that some vinegar is gluten-free and some isn't. Anybody know which is which? I like balsamic vinegar on my salads. Is that ok? LaVonne Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 22, 2005 Report Share Posted March 22, 2005 Thanks everybody, for all the info on vinegar! LaVonne Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 22, 2005 Report Share Posted March 22, 2005 I will just add something briefly. Two years ago the Canadian and American Dietetic associations, after several years of study, made a declatation that ALL vinegars are safe for use by people with CD and other gluten intolerances. The process by which vinegar is made does not allow any of the ptorein to pass in to the distilled product and is therefore, in their opinion, gluten free. Not all malt vinegars are made using gluten grains anyway and for the most part, in north america, white voniegars are made from corn not wheat. Heinz brand is always corn based. That said, as has been pointed out many times, acidosis in the body is a bad place for illness and will actually encourage cancerous growths. If you actually knew how most vinegars were made you wouldn't eat them anyway. And for those who have concerns about the consumption of alcohol, a note: Ellen White noted that vinegar was one of the substances which should not be used in the home because of it's alcohol content, that's what the percentage number on the bottle refers to - pickling vinegar for example, is 4% alcohol. If a person with gluten intolerance chooses to use a vinegar, try one based on millet. BL Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 22, 2005 Report Share Posted March 22, 2005 Hi Brenda-Lee, Thanks for this info - all knowledge is power as they say. Mikey xx , " Brenda-Lee Olson " <shalomaleichemacadem@m...> wrote: > I will just add something briefly. Two years ago the Canadian and American Dietetic associations, after several years of study, made a declatation that ALL vinegars are safe for use by people with CD and other gluten intolerances. The process by which vinegar is made does not allow any of the ptorein to pass in to the distilled product and is therefore, in their opinion, gluten free. Not all malt vinegars are made using gluten grains anyway and for the most part, in north america, white voniegars are made from corn not wheat. Heinz brand is always corn based. > > That said, as has been pointed out many times, acidosis in the body is a bad place for illness and will actually encourage cancerous growths. If you actually knew how most vinegars were made you wouldn't eat them anyway. And for those who have concerns about the consumption of alcohol, a note: Ellen White noted that vinegar was one of the substances which should not be used in the home because of it's alcohol content, that's what the percentage number on the bottle refers to - pickling vinegar for example, is 4% alcohol. > > If a person with gluten intolerance chooses to use a vinegar, try one based on millet. > > BL > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 22, 2005 Report Share Posted March 22, 2005 Isn't vinegar just wine aged differently? And isn't the essence of malt based in barley, and therefore containing gluten? I'm just wondering. - Brenda-Lee Olson Tuesday, March 22, 2005 1:20 PM Re: gluten-free vinegar I will just add something briefly. Two years ago the Canadian and American Dietetic associations, after several years of study, made a declatation that ALL vinegars are safe for use by people with CD and other gluten intolerances. The process by which vinegar is made does not allow any of the ptorein to pass in to the distilled product and is therefore, in their opinion, gluten free. Not all malt vinegars are made using gluten grains anyway and for the most part, in north america, white voniegars are made from corn not wheat. Heinz brand is always corn based. That said, as has been pointed out many times, acidosis in the body is a bad place for illness and will actually encourage cancerous growths. If you actually knew how most vinegars were made you wouldn't eat them anyway. And for those who have concerns about the consumption of alcohol, a note: Ellen White noted that vinegar was one of the substances which should not be used in the home because of it's alcohol content, that's what the percentage number on the bottle refers to - pickling vinegar for example, is 4% alcohol. If a person with gluten intolerance chooses to use a vinegar, try one based on millet. BL Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 23, 2005 Report Share Posted March 23, 2005 Braggs has a very nice raw organic apple cider vinegar and I have found great balsamic and rice vinegars at the health food stores. I even found a white balsamic vinegar that is so tasty on some fresh spinach and tomatoes. Deborah Pageau <dpageau wrote:LaVonne, my understanding is that we have to avoid the balsamic vinegars that have suphites added as a preservative. For that reason mainly, I get organic balsamic vinegar. It's a LOT more money, but I love the flavour and use it sparingly, so it's worth it to me. I also understand that " malt " vinegar must be avoided, because it is based on gluten-grains. But wine vinegars and cider vinegars are generally fine... again though, read the labels to avoid sulphites. Deborah I've been told that some vinegar is gluten-free and some isn't. Anybody know which is which? I like balsamic vinegar on my salads. Is that ok? LaVonne Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 23, 2005 Report Share Posted March 23, 2005 No, most vinegars are actually filtered through sawdust. I can't say as I know how wines are filtered these days, but I am pretty sure not through sawdust. Malting is a process, not just a product. One can have rice malt, corn malt and so forth. The industry standard for malt whiskey is that it is grain based malting but I can't say whether it is actually barley or not. Again though, the process by which alcohol and vinegars are distilled makes it so no protein from the grains pass into the finished product, in the scientific opinion of the american and canadian dietetic associations. We have never had a problem with any kind of vinegar although I choose not to use them hardly ever now because of their alcohol content. HTH BL Isn't vinegar just wine aged differently? And isn't the essence of malt based in barley, and therefore containing gluten? I'm just wondering. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 25, 2005 Report Share Posted March 25, 2005 Malt used for vinegar must be from barley unless otherwise labeled (just like all " malt " in foods). The ADA ruling was on distilled vinegars, not " all vinegars " (not that it helps if you have an alcohol allergy). And most US distilled vinegar is from Heinz, which uses corn. In addition to malt vinegar not being gf (unless the malt is not from barley), apple cider " flavored " vinegar (a Heinz product, not made from apples and not the same as apple cider vinegar) and some rice wine vinegars (mostly from china, where wheat is added to the second fermentation of rice wines) are not gf. The vast majority of other vinegars are gf (just watch out for the " flavorings " - those have to be checked with each company). > > Brenda-Lee Olson [shalomaleichemacadem] > Wednesday, March 23, 2005 12:07 PM > > Re: gluten-free vinegar > > > > No, most vinegars are actually filtered through sawdust. I can't > say as I know how wines are filtered these days, but I am pretty > sure not through sawdust. Malting is a process, not just a > product. One can have rice malt, corn malt and so forth. The > industry standard for malt whiskey is that it is grain based > malting but I can't say whether it is actually barley or not. > Again though, the process by which alcohol and vinegars are > distilled makes it so no protein from the grains pass into the > finished product, in the scientific opinion of the american and > canadian dietetic associations. We have never had a problem with > any kind of vinegar although I choose not to use them hardly ever > now because of their alcohol content. > > HTH > BL > > > Isn't vinegar just wine aged differently? And isn't the essence > of malt based in barley, and therefore containing gluten? I'm > just wondering. > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.