Guest guest Posted December 16, 2004 Report Share Posted December 16, 2004 Hi there I just bought an icecream maker and will be subsituting coconut milk for dairy milk. Does anyone have any suggestions for a substitute for eggs? Many of the icecream recipes call for up to five egg yolk!!! Emma Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 16, 2004 Report Share Posted December 16, 2004 Hello Emma, Greetings from the cold of the north! My ice cream maker is put away for the winter. . .but life " down under " is just heating up! Congratulations on your new ice cream maker! We may have some recipes for vegan ice creams in our archives and files (let's as Jenni and Kim - grin!). . .but if not, I know there are some excellent ones in the archives at: http://www.Christian-Vegan-Cooking . All the ice cream recipes there call for dairy-free milk alternatives and no eggs! LaDonna >>>>I just bought an icecream maker and will be subsituting coconut milk for dairy milk. Does anyone have any suggestions for a substitute for eggs? Many of the icecream recipes call for up to five egg yolk!!! Emma Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 17, 2004 Report Share Posted December 17, 2004 > We may have some recipes for vegan ice creams in > our archives and files (let's as Jenni and Kim - grin) There's heaps of icecream recipes in the files - " Files " > " ***Recipes Posted to VGF*** " > " Desserts " > " Frozen Desserts " or use this link to get into the files and go from there - There are folders for icecream, sherbert, sorbet, slushies etc. For those of us not in the US, I am slowly working through all the recipes and adding metric measurements (g, ml, C etc) to them. For those that are soy free I am also adding (SF) to those recipes that are soy free and (*SF) to those that can be soy free using simple substitutions. Kim, Australia Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 17, 2004 Report Share Posted December 17, 2004 Thank you, Kim. Excellent ideas! I'm wondering. . .are there other foods we should label in addition to " soy " ? For example, in addition to gluten, my DH is unable to eat anything that contains peanuts. There are probably several foods that are generally " off limits " or highly allergic. LaDonna >>>For those of us not in the US, I am slowly working through all the recipes and adding metric measurements (g, ml, C etc) to them. >>>For those that are soy free I am also adding (SF) to those recipes that are soy free and (*SF) to those that can be soy free using simple substitutions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 17, 2004 Report Share Posted December 17, 2004 There is a standarized list of the top 8 allergens used by allergist and immunologists LaDonna I can't remember the whole list but I think it mostly goes like this: wheat, gluten, dairy, corn, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, soy and shellfish (which, of course, wouldn't apply here) BL Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 17, 2004 Report Share Posted December 17, 2004 I had wondered about that. Soy was my first thought as I know there are so many people that can't eat it, many vegan recipes do contain it (but not as many as I thought) and it can sometimes be hard to sub (eg. Tofu). There are other allergens in some of the recipes, but not as many as soy. If anyone does want something added to make it immediately obvious that a recipe comtains a possible problem food, I would be happy to do it (it may take a while - there are so many recipes). There is also a limit to how long a file name can be so that may limit what can be added as well. Kim. , " Tea Cozy " <teacups@c...> wrote: > Thank you, Kim. Excellent ideas! I'm wondering. . .are there other foods we should label in addition to " soy " ? For example, in addition to gluten, my DH is unable to eat anything that contains peanuts. There are probably several foods that are generally " off limits " or highly allergic. > > LaDonna > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 17, 2004 Report Share Posted December 17, 2004 We've already automatically eliminated half of these Kim > wheat, gluten, dairy, corn, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, soy and shellfish (which, of course, wouldn't apply here) > > BL > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.