Guest guest Posted January 6, 2006 Report Share Posted January 6, 2006 Krista -- TVP depends on the source of the vegetable protein. It could be soy (GF) or wheat (gluten). So its not really conflicting, it's a question of source. This applies to a lot of things like " modified food starch " as well. Marakay In a message dated 1/5/2006 9:23:25 PM Eastern Standard Time, writes: > there seems to be conflicting information. For > example, some websites say TVP is ok, some say it isn’t. > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 6, 2006 Report Share Posted January 6, 2006 Welcome, Krista. It sounds like you are well on your way to a healthy, gluten-free diet. Be sure to look in our 'files' section for recipes that are sorted by category. List member Kim has graciously filed everything away there for our ease of use. Regarding TVP: if the TVP (textured vegetable protein) is from a pure soy source it would be gluten-free. If it is from a wheat source, of course it would not be. And some are of both sources together. So, reading a label is always important. Another example would be soy sauce. Most soy sauce contains wheat, but some does not. Whenever I go grocery shopping, I make sure my reading glasses are in my purse, as it's impossible to shop for groceries these days without reading labels. I believe there are several lists available online that may list 'gluten free' foods, but you'll probably find, like most of us have, that manufacturers change ingredients upon a whim, so never trust past experience and continue to keep tabs on the package labels. Please feel free to ask questions and share concerns. We are so glad you've joined us here. LaDonna Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 6, 2006 Report Share Posted January 6, 2006 Hi and Welcome It is difficult (at first) to figure out what you can and cannot eat - especially since there are so many hidden gluten sources. Unfortunately, the best way to find everything is to read (very carefuly) and to use this website. I don't have a list of of all the hidden sources, but I recently found a massive list of 'mainstream' foods that do not contain gluten. http://homepage.mac.com/sholland/celiac/GFfoodlist.pdf Hope this helps! , " Krista Schmidt " <bun3kin@c...> wrote: > > I thought I should introduce myself… > > My name is Krista and I have only been here a few days but have learned > so much from you guys already! (Aren't archives great?!) Thanks for all > of the great information you guys have found out. Believe me… it saves > me a lot of pain and suffering! We follow the McDougall way of eating, > and now come to find out I have a gluten sensitivity. I have been gluten > free for 2 days and already feel a lot better. > > One of the problems I am finding though is the hidden gluten that seems > to be everywhere! I do a lot of cooking from scratch, so I am in the > process of finding out where all of the hidden gluten is and finding a > brand that doesn't have it. I think once I have a list shopping should > be a no-brainer. (Well, I am hoping, anyway!) > > The other one is that there seems to be conflicting information. For > example, some websites say TVP is ok, some say it isn't. > > Is there a list out there somewhere of where to look for hidden gluten? > It would make my weekend project much easier! > > Anyway, I am hoping to some day be able to give as much information as I > take. ) > > Krista > > -- > > > Version: 7.1.371 / Virus Database: 267.14.13/221 - Release Date: > 1/4/2006 > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted January 6, 2006 Report Share Posted January 6, 2006 Hi Krista! Welcome! I eat the McDougall way, too, and am wheat intolerant. This list is a great place for recipes and ideas on cooking vegan/gluten free stuff. If you go to McDougall's newsletter archives (http://www.drmcdougall.com/misc/2005nl/april/050400.htm), he's got an article on soy... but what he says (and the way I do it is): " We recommend that you use traditional soy foods, like soy milk and tofu, only as a small part of your diet, at most 5% of your daily calories. “Synthetic soy foods,” like meats, cheeses, and soy bars, should rarely, if ever, be consumed. " You want to avoid the soy protein isolates, which is what TVP is (plus they usually add wheat proteins to it, too!). For a very burger-like consistency, freeze a block of tofu and thaw it; then it will crumble JUST like TPV. Then, you cook it up, just like ground beef. Mix with your fave recipe instead of ground beef. As an aside to all of this: I found the BEST veggie burgers in Costco... by Dr. Praeger: California Veggie Burgers... although, they DO have some oat bran, so I don't know if that would be bad for you to eat. Good luck! Once you get used to gluten free, it's not too bad! --- Lynn On Jan 5, 2006, at 9:22 PM, wrote: > My introduction and thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.