Guest guest Posted July 19, 2004 Report Share Posted July 19, 2004 In a message dated 7/19/04 1:00:31 AM, snowbound2044 writes: << Personally I won't eat oats and wouldn't buy a gluten free cookbook that contained oat recepies. >> That's how I feel about vegetarian cookbooks that have fish recipes. Aaagh! Jo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 20, 2004 Report Share Posted July 20, 2004 But oats don't have gluten protein. Fish are a living animal and therefore no different than meat. We have a celiac, and 5 non-cd gluten intolerants in our family and oats are perfectly fine for us. Both Irish and Scottish oats are grown without chance of cross contamination in the field or the mill so why restrict ourselves if we can obtain them. Besides, it's easy to sub them out in a recipe if you prefer to not use them. Try buckwheat flakes, millet flakes or some other cereal that works for you. BL JoProut wrote: >In a message dated 7/19/04 1:00:31 AM, snowbound2044 writes: > ><< Personally I won't eat oats and wouldn't buy >a gluten free cookbook that contained oat recepies. >> > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted July 22, 2004 Report Share Posted July 22, 2004 Thankyou all for your comments. All of them were appreciated. The cookbooks will not be exclusively Gluten Free, but 85-95% of the recipes will be Gluten Free or have the alterations to make it Gluten Free. (PS: honey is used, but alternatives are written in too). Because of your comments I have decided to make sure there are alternatives to oats as well. Thanks again. Be Content With the Things You Have :-) <http://www.HealthyHappyHomes.info> www.HealthyHappyHomes.info <http://www.HealthyHomeCookin.com> www.HealthyHomeCookin.com Ps: My pet peeve is cheeze in Vegetarian cooking. Harder to digest than meat for me and most others! _____ Brenda-Lee [shalomaleichemacadem] Monday, July 19, 2004 8:17 PM Re: buying cookbooks, was RE: oats But oats don't have gluten protein. Fish are a living animal and therefore no different than meat. We have a celiac, and 5 non-cd gluten intolerants in our family and oats are perfectly fine for us. Both Irish and Scottish oats are grown without chance of cross contamination in the field or the mill so why restrict ourselves if we can obtain them. Besides, it's easy to sub them out in a recipe if you prefer to not use them. Try buckwheat flakes, millet flakes or some other cereal that works for you. BL JoProut wrote: >In a message dated 7/19/04 1:00:31 AM, snowbound2044 writes: > ><< Personally I won't eat oats and wouldn't buy >a gluten free cookbook that contained oat recepies. >> > > Check out these affiliated vegan lists ~ http://www.Christian-Vegan-Cooking http://www.VintageVeganTea http://www.VeganMenus4HealthyLiving Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.