Guest guest Posted June 18, 2006 Report Share Posted June 18, 2006 Here's a site that may be helpful. http://www.glutenfreekitchen.org/GFAlcohol.htm , " jess_ttcs " <jess_steinberg wrote: > > Hi everyone, > I recently realized that I felt terrible after I drank anything with even a tiny amount of vodka > in it. Then I (duh) realized that vodka is made from wheat!!! > Just wanted to warn everyone to be very careful with alcohol as many are not gluten free. > Also, I was wondering if anyone knows which alcohols are (commonly) gluten free. > So far, I have come up with sake, wine, gf beer > thanks! > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 18, 2006 Report Share Posted June 18, 2006 Actually, all alcohols are considered to be gluten free as the process of distillation makes it impossible for any proteins to remain behind. Most vodkas are made from either corn or potatoes, have never seen one made from wheat, but anything is possible. I wonder if maybe you just have an alcohol allergy. Vodka is, in fact, one of the alcohols most recommended for use by those on a gf diet, along with wines. Sometimes when one has damage to the intestines, the degree of damage makes them reactive to all sorts of other proteins until they have a chance to heal. BL Shalom uv'racha b'Yeshua HaMashiach Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 18, 2006 Report Share Posted June 18, 2006 I made an apple martini last weekend and took a sip before handing it to my friend. Within a minute I had a horrible stomachache and felt faint. It was Grey Goose brand and it says " grain-based " on the label. Later in the evening I had a rum drink (mojito) and felt fine. I had always heard that distilled drinks were fine, but I think I will stay away from it for now. Tracey , " Brenda-Lee " <shalomaleichemacademy wrote: > > Actually, all alcohols are considered to be gluten free as the process of distillation makes it impossible for any proteins to remain behind. Most vodkas are made from either corn or potatoes, have never seen one made from wheat, but anything is possible. I wonder if maybe you just have an alcohol allergy. Vodka is, in fact, one of the alcohols most recommended for use by those on a gf diet, along with wines. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 18, 2006 Report Share Posted June 18, 2006 i would like to weigh in on this as i am a bar owner and have had to learn what to drink. i use to drink vodka untill i realized it caused me great pain the next day. i then switched to a nice white tequela. i sip this over ice with lime. it makes it so smooth and i can have 2 and not feel like a trainwreack the next day. i do limit my drinking thou. wines are usually good also. what i think the problem for me is the sugar in the vodka. or all alcohol really. but somehow your body processes different liquors a different way in your body. i was once told your body will react negativly if you are allergic to that liquor. so i would say if you insist on drinking experiment with one at a time and dont add all that sweet mixer stuff. it is as sweet as a soda. or dont add fruit juices. if you must mix it add a light sparkling water like pellegrino or a tonic water. this has sugar but not as much as alot of the mixers out there. or do what i do if i dont want a rocks poor, just add water. i know that when are bodys are alreayd compromised with the cd it has a hard time processing alcohol. i hope this helps. happy hunting! kathi --- Brenda-Lee <shalomaleichemacademy wrote: > Actually, all alcohols are considered to be gluten > free as the process of distillation makes it > impossible for any proteins to remain behind. Most > vodkas are made from either corn or potatoes, have > never seen one made from wheat, but anything is > possible. I wonder if maybe you just have an > alcohol allergy. Vodka is, in fact, one of the > alcohols most recommended for use by those on a gf > diet, along with wines. > > Sometimes when one has damage to the intestines, the > degree of damage makes them reactive to all sorts of > other proteins until they have a chance to heal. > > BL > Shalom uv'racha b'Yeshua HaMashiach > > [Non-text portions of this message have been > removed] > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 19, 2006 Report Share Posted June 19, 2006 I didn't have a clue what vodka is made from and I'm not a drinker. So I did a quick Google and came up with this : " Vodka can be distilled in a good many ways, from a great many substances, including wheat, rye, beets, corn, potatoes, and sugar cane. (In Russia, the Yukos oil conglomerate recently made headlines for marketing a vodka distilled from hemp seeds.) As a result, each brand has a distinct smell, flavor, aftertaste, and burn (i.e., the burning sensation vodka creates as it goes down your gullet). The grain-based vodkas, which are the most popular, tend to be smooth and can even taste fruity. Vegetable-based vodkas are often (and often unfairly) dismissed as being harsh and medicinal. " , " Brenda-Lee " <shalomaleichemacademy wrote: > >Most vodkas are made from either corn or potatoes, have never seen one made from wheat, but anything is possible. I wonder if maybe you just have an alcohol allergy. Vodka is, in fact, one of the alcohols most recommended for use by those on a gf diet, along with wines. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted June 19, 2006 Report Share Posted June 19, 2006 thanks to everyone who posted info, it is really appreciated!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.