Guest guest Posted June 8, 2005 Report Share Posted June 8, 2005 I don't know the whole story with Emes, but I may be able to shed some light on why Emes has been considered vegetarian. I'm Jewish, and I've studied some kashruth law though I haven't in a while. There's a loophole in kashruth -- as long as a food with mixed ingredients contains less than a certain small percentage of the non-kosher or otherwise offending substance, it's considered to be fit to eat and to be considered as the " proper " item. This is how some items containing casein proteins are not always labelled as " dairy " (as in the OU-dairy label) -- if it's under a certain percentage, it's " not there " in kashruth. It is possible -- I'm just guessing based on that rule of kashruth -- that from a kosher law standpoint, less than a certain amount of meat gelatin in the formula (I think it's 2% but I might be wrong) is being classified as " still pareve " and that therefore the company hasn't bothered to mark it. People do not realize that " pareve " and vegetarian aren't always the same thing, and that vegetarian alone doesn't insure keeping kosher any more than keeping kosher guarantees that non-meat foods are vegetarian. That may be what's going on here. Marakay Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.