Guest guest Posted November 13, 2005 Report Share Posted November 13, 2005 Dontcha love them? And it's hard (at least for me) to find a vegetarian version locally. A couple of years ago I first tried making marshmallows from scratch, using Emes gelatin, and they turned out even better than the ones in the store! It's easy, but it takes overnight. It would be a great thing to do with children. These can be used every way the carnivorous version can be used, including s'mores, roasted over a campfire, in recipes, etc. Don't know if any of you is into this sort of thing, but if you are, let me know and I'll post the recipe. Sherry in Oregon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 13, 2005 Report Share Posted November 13, 2005 > A couple of years ago I first tried making marshmallows from > scratch, using Emes gelatin, and they turned out even better than > the ones in the store! Sherry, I so hate to tell you this... but Emes isn't actually vegetarian. They lied.:-( http://www.vegparadise.com/news55.html I believe they have also gone out of business, as of August I think. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 13, 2005 Report Share Posted November 13, 2005 I'd be interested. Gary --- Sherry Rose <sherry wrote: > Dontcha love them? And it's hard (at least for > me) to find a vegetarian version locally. A > couple of years ago I first tried making > marshmallows from scratch, using Emes gelatin, > and they turned out even better than the ones > in the store! It's easy, but it takes overnight. > It would be a great thing to do with children. > These can be used every way the carnivorous > version can be used, including s'mores, roasted > over a campfire, in recipes, etc. > > Don't know if any of you is into this sort of > thing, but if you are, let me know and I'll > post the recipe. > > Sherry in Oregon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 13, 2005 Report Share Posted November 13, 2005 Oops, guess not, if Emes is not vegetarian. Thanks though. Gary --- Gary Mattingly <gsmattingly wrote: > I'd be interested. > > Gary > > --- Sherry Rose <sherry wrote: > > > Dontcha love them? And it's hard (at least for > > me) to find a vegetarian version locally. A > > couple of years ago I first tried making > > marshmallows from scratch, using Emes gelatin, > > and they turned out even better than the ones > > in the store! It's easy, but it takes overnight. > > > It would be a great thing to do with children. > > These can be used every way the carnivorous > > version can be used, including s'mores, roasted > > over a campfire, in recipes, etc. > > > > Don't know if any of you is into this sort of > > thing, but if you are, let me know and I'll > > post the recipe. > > > > Sherry in Oregon > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 13, 2005 Report Share Posted November 13, 2005 Sure, Gary -- I'll post it as soon as I can find a truly vegetarian substitute for Emes, assuming one exists. Sherry At 12:04 PM 11/13/2005, you wrote: >I'd be interested. > >Gary Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 13, 2005 Report Share Posted November 13, 2005 Have you tried Agar, Agar? I know it is suppose to work as well if not better than gelatin. It is derived from seaweed. I have a small package here and I just may have to get it out and work with it. I really like some of the ideas that come with Jell-O but I have not had it for years. I just may have to try it for Thanksgiving. Thanks for the link I am there now Linda C muggle311 Terrebonne, OR Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 13, 2005 Report Share Posted November 13, 2005 Hi Linda, I haven't used agar agar in at least 15 years, but now that Emes is out of the question, I think I'll give it a try. Since it's derived from seaweed, it does have the protein to bind, etc. I also found via Google some people who've developed a new vegetarian gelatin using soy. They were students and discovered it as a project; now they're selling it. I'm checking it out, and if it's any good, I'll post it on the list. You sure live in a pretty neck of the woods! Sherry (formerly in The Dalles) At 02:12 PM 11/13/2005, you wrote: >Have you tried Agar, Agar? I know it is suppose to work as well if not >better than gelatin. It is derived from seaweed. I have a small package here >and I just may have to get it out and work with it. I really like some of >the ideas that come with Jell-O but I have not had it for years. I just may >have to try it for Thanksgiving. >Thanks for the link I am there now >Linda C >muggle311 >Terrebonne, OR Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 19, 2005 Report Share Posted November 19, 2005 How about: http://www.vegparadise.com/news38.html? ....a truly vegetarian substitute for Emes, assuming one exists. Start your day with - Make it your home page! http://www./r/hs Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 19, 2005 Report Share Posted November 19, 2005 I'm seriously considering ordering KoJel and the marshmallows from Pangea. Has anybody on this list ordered either? If so, how were they? Sherry in Oreogn At 03:00 PM 11/19/2005, you wrote: >How about: ><http://www.vegparadise.com/news38.html?>http://www.vegparadise.com/news38.html\ ? > > >...a truly vegetarian substitute for Emes, assuming >one exists. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 21, 2005 Report Share Posted November 21, 2005 Be careful! I know that Kojel is kosher, but it can still be made with ground-up fish bone! Sherry Rose <sherry wrote: I'm seriously considering ordering KoJel and the marshmallows from Pangea. Has anybody on this list ordered either? If so, how were they? Sherry in Oreogn At 03:00 PM 11/19/2005, you wrote: >How about: ><http://www.vegparadise.com/news38.html?>http://www.vegparadise.com/news38.html\ ? > > >...a truly vegetarian substitute for Emes, assuming >one exists. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted November 21, 2005 Report Share Posted November 21, 2005 This is true, but Pangea really checks out their stuff before selling it. However, if they have vegan marshmallows, maybe I'll forgo making them myself. Sherry At 12:44 PM 11/21/2005, you wrote: >Be careful! I know that Kojel is kosher, but it can still be made with >ground-up fish bone! > >Sherry Rose <sherry wrote: I'm seriously considering >ordering KoJel and the marshmallows from >Pangea. Has anybody on this list ordered either? If so, how were they? > >Sherry in Oreogn Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.