Guest guest Posted December 14, 2005 Report Share Posted December 14, 2005 I've seen severel recipes lately that call for vegan wine and I was wondering... why isn't normal wine vegan?? Also, is there an online list of " hidden " ingredients that make things NOT vegan? Thanks! Shelly Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 14, 2005 Report Share Posted December 14, 2005 maybe this will explain it better than I can: http://www.vrg.org/journal/vj97jan/971wine.htm Some wines have geletain or egg whites or other animal products introduced in the clarification process. meg Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 14, 2005 Report Share Posted December 14, 2005 Hi...here is a site you can wander around in about vegan foods and about the wine question and others. <snip> Wine is clarified, or cleared, after fermentation. Some of the ingredients used include: - edible gelatins (made from bones) - isinglass (made from the swim bladders of fish) - casein and potassium caseinate (milk proteins) - animal albumin (egg albumin and dried blood powder) http://veganconnection.com/notvegan.html This is my short list, but now I mainly look for foods that say vegan or vegetarian and with the vegetarian then I read the ingredients to see what might not be vegan. Shortens my process. Plus now I kind of know what I need to watch for. But I do take this list with me since it is short. Stearic acid is usually animal as are natural flavorings too plus lecithin, mono and di-glycerides, vitamins. If in doubt as to an ingredient I write it down, and don't buy it until I have looked it up at home. It isn't as hard as it looks because after a short period you just kind of recognize a vegan versus a possible non-vegan. This list didn't copy and paste appropriately though, hope you can see the divisions. It is in alphabetical order (sort of) Adrenaline, alanine, albumen/albumin, aliphatic alcohol, lanolin, vit A, Allantoin, alpha-hydroxy acids, ambergis, angora, Animal fats/oils, Arachidonic Acid, arachidyl proprionate, Benzoic Acid, beta-carotene, Biotin/vitamin H., Vitamin B Factor, bone char, bone meal, caprylic acid, Carmine. Cochineal., Carminic acid, Carbamide, Carotene, provitamin A,. Beta-caroteneCasein, Caseinate, Sodium Caseinate, Cashmere Castor. Castoreum catgut,Cera flava, Cerebrosides Cetyl Alcohol Cetyl Palmitate Chitosan, Cholesterin, cholesterol, civet, cochineal, Choline, Bitartrate, Cod Liver Oil, collagen, Cortisone, corticosteroid cystein, L-Form Cystine dimethyl Stearmine Duodenum Substance Elastin Emu oil Estrogen. Estradiol, Fatty Acids Gelatin, gel, Glycerin, Glycerol, Guanine, Pearl Essence, Hide Glue Hyaluronic Acid, Hydrolyzed Animal Protein, Insulin, Isinglass, Isopropyl Palmitate, Keratin, Lactic Acid, Lactose, Lanolin, Lanolin Acids, Wool fat, wool wax, Lecithin, Choline, Bitartrate, Linoleic Acid Lipase Lipoids, lipids, Marine oil, Methionine, Monoglycerides. Glycerides Myristic Acid, Natural sources, Natural Flavors,Nucleic Acids Oleic Acid Oleyl Alcohol, Ocenol Palmitic Acid Panthenol.Dexpanthenol. Vitamin B complex factor, Provitamin B5, Pepsin, Polypeptides, Polysorbates Pristane Propolis Provitamin A, Provitmin B5, Provitamin D2,Rennet, Resinous Glaze, RNA. Ribonucleic Acid Royal Jelly, Shellac. Resinous Glaze Sodium Caseinate Sodium Steroyl Lactylate Sodium Tallowate Spermaceti Squaline, Stearic Acid. Stearates Stearyl Alcohol. Sterols Steroids. Sterols Tyrosine Urea. Carbamide. Uric Acid,Vitamin A, Vitamin B12 ,Vitamin B Complex., Vitamin D. ,Ergocalciferol., Vitamin D2. Ergosterol. Provitamin D2, Calciferol, Vitamin D3, Vitamin H, Wax, Whey Shelly Wednesday, December 14, 2005 6:14 PM what makes wine vegan? I've seen severel recipes lately that call for vegan wine and I was wondering... why isn't normal wine vegan?? Also, is there an online list of " hidden " ingredients that make things NOT vegan? Thanks! Shelly Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 15, 2005 Report Share Posted December 15, 2005 This is great...thanks Shelly , Meg <itszen4me@g...> wrote: > > maybe this will explain it better than I can: > > http://www.vrg.org/journal/vj97jan/971wine.htm > > Some wines have geletain or egg whites or other animal products > introduced in the clarification process. > > meg > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 15, 2005 Report Share Posted December 15, 2005 Thanks very much Linda, for that extensive list Shelly Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.