Guest guest Posted September 2, 2006 Report Share Posted September 2, 2006 Oh, I love candy corn - I'll have to read the label and hope to find one without gelatin. Hugs to all, Christine Very veggie Mom of Lauren " baby " , Hayley " beans " and Kelsey " Q " Here's to your health! www.frutavida.com/bizimom - Audrey Friday, September 01, 2006 5:04 PM Re: Jelly Belly question gelatin . > > Every Hlloween time I used to eat a bunch of the candy corn and I > thought it was all sugar, I saw on the label that it has gelatin. I > looked at 4 kinds and one didn't have gelatin so everyone needs to see > what is in the candy corn so you don't buy the gelatin one. > Paul > Hi Paul, Yes, I remember reading that once about candy corn, and found some I think at the vegetarian stores online but don't recall where at the moment sorry. But found this for you at least. Audrey Article; CANDY CORN! I used to love candy corn. However, most candy corn contains gelatin, which is a slaughterhouse producd, and, as a result, not vegetarian. Those that I've seen that do not have gelatin definately have egg whites, making them not vegan. But I always check labels in vain. Today, I found almost completely vegan candy corn! I say almost because a lot of vegans will not use beeswax. I usually do not, not because I abstain from it, but because I generally don't ever find products that contain it. This candy corn has beeswax, but I decided that I had to have it anyway. After all, it's only once a year and I just love candy corn. I sometimes eat stuff with honey, too, though I try not to. Anyway, for those interested, the candy corn is a " Jelly Belly Confection " --ie, a non jelly bean candy made by jelly belly. I found them in a bodega on 2nd ave and 46th St, but you can order them online, too, at www.jellybelly.com I'm so happy. Trick or Treat just got so much better. :-) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.