Guest guest Posted April 3, 2006 Report Share Posted April 3, 2006 Christie,PT or anyone with specifics?? I would very much appreciate any information about this! , " ~ PT ~ " <patchouli_troll wrote: > > In digest #1835, Christie shared: " I've been particularly > suspicious of anything which is not marked as suitable > for vegetarians ever since contacting Coca Cola who > informed me that they use ingredients made from fish > in some of their colourings. " > > ~ Wow! i never knew this. You make a very valid point > about hidden ingredients, Christie. Thanks for the eye > opener. > > ~ pt ~ > > Month of April - aerial is the horizon; > Fatigued the oxen; bare the land; > Common is the visitor without an invitation. > ~ anon. Welsh poem > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted April 5, 2006 Report Share Posted April 5, 2006 Sorry for the delay in responding to this - I have have no internet connection for a couple of days. The article Gary referred you to pretty much sums up the email response I got from Coca Cola which indicated that the problem lay solely with specific items - " Dear Ms O'Connor, Thank you for contacting us in connection with the presence of animal derived products in our beverages. The products of Coca-Cola Great Britain that do NOT contain ingredients derived from mammals or poultry. Since some practising vegetarians avoid fish products as well, it is important to note that some of the products listed below contain minute traces of fish gelatin, which is used as a stabiliser for beta-carotene colour. These products are: 'Fanta' Orange (and Fanta Z) 'Fanta' Apple Splash 'Lilt' pineapple & grapefruit (and Lilt Z) 'Kia-Ora' Orange & Pineapple (and no added sugar) 'Alive'Orange Cascade 'Minute Maid' Froot Refresh Orange with Passion Fruit Beta-Carotene is a substance that occurs naturally in abundance in fruits and vegetables. It is what gives the yellow-orange fruits and vegetables their colour. All products are labelled in full compliance with U.K. food labelling requirements. I would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to contact us with your concerns and hope that they are allayed. Yours sincerely, Maria Vaughan Consumer Information Centre Coca-Cola Great Britain " After reading that article I don't feel in the least bit reassured and am even more inclined to only buy products that specifically state that they are suitable for vegetarians. I noticed in the supermarket at the weekend that one brand of soup/sauce manufacturer are now also marking some of their more recent products " Not suitable for vegetarians " which I really appreciated as it leaves no room for doubt. Christie , " cuppa_2u " <cuppa_2u wrote: > > Christie,PT or anyone with specifics?? I would very much appreciate > any information about this! > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.