Guest guest Posted August 31, 2006 Report Share Posted August 31, 2006 I haven't had the heart to research this yet - does anyone know if Jelly Belly's have gelatin in them? I'm betting yes - if for no other reason than I really like them. Sam Jello, marshmallows and made chewy candies contain getatin and it's made from bolied down animal parts, hooves and snouts. I know, now that is gross. Donna Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 31, 2006 Report Share Posted August 31, 2006 http://www.vegblog.org/archive/2002/03/29/jelly_bellys_vegetarian_but_not_vegan.\ php " Jelly Bellys: vegetarian, but not vegan I'm a fan of Jelly Belly jellybeans, especially the popcorn and toasted marshmallow flavors. One thing that's concerned me, though is that a lot of jellybeans are made with gelatin, which is clearly not vegetarian. I had heard that Jelly Belly brand was safe, and didn't see any gelatin listed on their label, but I decided to e-mail them just in case, to make sure. The response, from Mr. Jelly Belly, was positive: there are no animal or animal-derived products (including gelatin) in Jelly Belly jellybeans, but vegans may want to avoid them because they are coated in a mixture that contains beeswax, to give the beans their glossiness. That's the final word for you. March 29, 2002 @ 12:08 PM " --- Samantha Lea <saml wrote: > I haven't had the heart to research this yet - does > anyone know if Jelly > Belly's have gelatin in them? I'm betting yes - if > for no other reason > than I really like them. > Sam > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted August 31, 2006 Report Share Posted August 31, 2006 Thank you!! http://www.vegblog.org/archive/2002/03/29/jelly_bellys_vegetarian_but_no t_vegan.php " Jelly Bellys: vegetarian, but not vegan I'm a fan of Jelly Belly jellybeans, especially the popcorn and toasted marshmallow flavors. One thing that's concerned me, though is that a lot of jellybeans are made with gelatin, which is clearly not vegetarian. I had heard that Jelly Belly brand was safe, and didn't see any gelatin listed on their label, but I decided to e-mail them just in case, to make sure. The response, from Mr. Jelly Belly, was positive: there are no animal or animal-derived products (including gelatin) in Jelly Belly jellybeans, but vegans may want to avoid them because they are coated in a mixture that contains beeswax, to give the beans their glossiness. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.