Guest guest Posted March 14, 2006 Report Share Posted March 14, 2006 I met a chic today who was " vegetarian " She was eating starburst. THAT'S NOT VEGETARIAN Gelatin (also gelatine) is a translucent brittle solid substance, colorless or slightly yellow, nearly tasteless and odorless, which is created by prolonged boiling of animal skin, connective tissue or bones. It has many uses in food, medicine, and manufacturing. Substances that contain or resemble gelatin are called gelatinous. Gelatin is also known as E number E441. So as Polina says: Skittles, taste the animal skin, connective tissue an bones! Stupid people irritate me. Then there is the idiot that thinks fish is vegetarian...or even the idiot that thinks CHICKEN is vegetarian... ok. It was once a living, breathing animal. It is not vegetarian. Just cause it's a cold blooded animal, or it hatches it's young does not make it an animal. A vegetarian tried to avoid KILLING things. Now...lets move on to cheese. Most cheese is not vegetarian in the USA. A lot of cheese contains Rennent. RENNET [rennet] substance containing rennin, an enzyme having the property of clotting, or curdling, milk. It is used in the making of cheese and junket. Rennet is obtained from the stomachs of young mammals living on milk, especially from the inner lining of the fourth, or true, stomach (abomasum) of milk-fed calves. The preparation of rennet was formerly a part of the domestic function of making cheese; the inner membrane was kept in salt, dried, and, when rennet was needed, soaked in water. Now extract of rennet is made and sold commercially. It is usually prepared by soaking the tissues in warm, slightly salted water and straining and preserving the resulting liquid. Heat interferes with the action of rennet. Now...I do not expect people to be vegetarians or to be making the journey I am towards vegan. (I still have makeup and take medications that are not totally vegan and occasionally consume things with honey in them...mostly because of not checking until too late or having little to no options available. I can be very scatterbrained at times.) We all make mistakes and some of us do not want to cease consuming animal products. I respect that. BUT DON'T SAY YOU ARE VEGETARIAN IF YOU EAT THINGS THAT ARE DEAD!! Are you with me? Sorry for being so pissy. I am grumpy and tired but can't sleep cause my tummy hurts. I forgot to take my endo herbs today. Call it semi PMS. ~Mel " Sweet songs the youth, the wise; the meaning of all wisdom...to believe in the good in man " --Legend Brings words and photos together (easily) with PhotoMail - it's free and works with Mail. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.