Guest guest Posted September 18, 2006 Report Share Posted September 18, 2006 Nope, lots of beer isn't vegetarian either. Not sure if we have the list in the files, I know that it's come up a few times in here. Donna --- jandor9 <jandor9 wrote: > OK, BEER then. No problem at all. Wheat, hops, > yeast, FILTERED > WATER. :>) > > , " Thia .... " > <bipolyf > wrote: > > > > Many wines are filtered with isinglass, which > comes from fish. > Sorry to > > spoil the fun, but most wine is not veggie > friendly. > > > > > > On 9/18/06, jandor9 <jandor9 wrote: > > > > > > Bread, wine, olives, wine, cheese, wine, > fruit, wine, omlets, > wine, > > > pasta, wine, rice, wine, vegetables, > wine.......you'll do just > fine!! > > > Have a great trip!!! > > > > > > Janis > > > > > > > > > [Non-text portions of this message have been > removed] > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted September 18, 2006 Report Share Posted September 18, 2006 I think this is the one that's been posted before: http://homepage.ntlworld.com/geraint.bevan/Vegetarian_beers.html Also, found this: http://www.gonchong.co.uk/vegbeer.html These lists force us to again lament that Guiness does not make the cut due to isinglass. -Erin www.zenpawn.com/vegblog , Donnalilacflower <thelilacflower wrote: > > > Nope, lots of beer isn't vegetarian either. > Not sure if we have the list in the files, I know that > it's come up a few times in here. > Donna > --- jandor9 <jandor9 wrote: > > > OK, BEER then. No problem at all. Wheat, hops, > > yeast, FILTERED > > WATER. :>) > > > > , " Thia .... " > > <bipolyf@> > > wrote: > > > > > > Many wines are filtered with isinglass, which > > comes from fish. > > Sorry to > > > spoil the fun, but most wine is not veggie > > friendly. > > > > > > > > > On 9/18/06, jandor9 <jandor9@> wrote: > > > > > > > > Bread, wine, olives, wine, cheese, wine, > > fruit, wine, omlets, > > wine, > > > > pasta, wine, rice, wine, vegetables, > > wine.......you'll do just > > fine!! > > > > Have a great trip!!! > > > > > > > > Janis > > > > > > > > > > > > > [Non-text portions of this message have been > > removed] > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted September 18, 2006 Report Share Posted September 18, 2006 The finings can make it non-vegetarian. For instance Guinness: From Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guinness " Guinness is not suitable for vegans and vegetarians due to the use of a fish-based fining agent called isinglass. " From snopes: http://msgboard.snopes.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=108;t=000815;p\ =0 <http://msgboard.snopes.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=108;t=000815;\ p=0> " Fining is the process of added a substance that attracts solid matter suspendde in the liquid to form a clump that will settle at the bottom of the container. The most common fining agents are bentonite and isinglass. Bentonite is a type of clay, so it is vegetarian. Isinglass is made from fish, so that is where the story originates. Fining agents are removed by racking and filtering, but trace amounts of the fining agents are left. Less commong fining agents include carragean. Historically, other substances have been used besides bentonite and isinglass, such as egg yolks and ox blood. These are generally not used any more, due to heath concerns. Guiness is not a vegetarian beer (big page) because it uses isinglass. (Note that that page has a major error on it -- it assumes all finings are animal products, which is not true.) " Gary --- Donnalilacflower <thelilacflower wrote: > > Nope, lots of beer isn't vegetarian either. > Not sure if we have the list in the files, I know > that > it's come up a few times in here. > Donna > --- jandor9 <jandor9 wrote: > > > OK, BEER then. No problem at all. Wheat, hops, > > yeast, FILTERED > > WATER. :>) > > > > , " Thia > .... " > > <bipolyf > > wrote: > > > > > > Many wines are filtered with isinglass, which > > comes from fish. > > Sorry to > > > spoil the fun, but most wine is not veggie > > friendly. > > > > > > > > > On 9/18/06, jandor9 <jandor9 wrote: > > > > > > > > Bread, wine, olives, wine, cheese, wine, > > fruit, wine, omlets, > > wine, > > > > pasta, wine, rice, wine, vegetables, > > wine.......you'll do just > > fine!! > > > > Have a great trip!!! > > > > > > > > Janis gsmattingly Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.