IndiaDivine.org

Transition to vegan

Rate this topic

Guest guest

I wanted to update you on my moving-to-vegan progress. When I first joined (a month or so ago?), I was vegetarian. I now have stopped eating eggs & dairy. (Yay!) I'm still learning about products that have hidden animal ingredients. I think this is gonna take awhile. I bought that book on Animal Ingredients A-Z (or similar title; thanks for the suggestion). It's pretty overwhelming. Short of bringing the book with me & looking up everything I don't recognize, I'm not sure how to proceed. I suppose I could create a list of "most likely" candidates to carry with me?How did you all figure out how to identify the myriad ingredients? (And it feels weird to refer to them as "ingredients." They're animals, not ingredient sources.)Sue

The big culprits are things like gelatin, casein, cochineal coloring (watch for in grapefruit juices), chicken broth at restaurants in their vegetables (you'd be amazed), whey hidden in lots of stuff...you're not eating cheese anymore, but rennet in cheese is one of the big ones to throw at dairy eating " vegetarians " .

The book " How it all Vegan " has great recipes and a nice glossary. Blake On Fri, Jan 30, 2009 at 1:58 PM, Sue 3334 <sue_3334 wrote:

I wanted to update you on my moving-to-vegan progress. When I first joined (a month or so ago?), I was vegetarian. I now have stopped eating eggs & dairy. (Yay!) I'm still learning about products that have hidden animal ingredients. I think this is gonna take awhile. I bought that book on Animal Ingredients A-Z (or similar title; thanks for the suggestion). It's pretty overwhelming. Short of bringing the book with me & looking up everything I don't recognize, I'm not sure how to proceed. I suppose I could create a list of " most likely " candidates to carry with me?