IndiaDivine.org

Tofutti Sour Cream

Rate this topic

Guest guest

I am still learning about Veganism. Have been one for a little over a year. I

love sour cream and have been looking for a vegan substitute. I though I found

one, but not sure. Tofutti Sour Cream advertises on the front of the container

that there are no animal derivatives, but reading the ingredients I see it

contains cellulose (which I understand can be synthetically produced) and mono &

diglycerides (which according to my list, comes from glycerin, which is an

animal product). I also didn't see the Certified Vegan stamp. If it advertises

that it contains no animal derivatives, shouldn't it be certified vegan? Please

help.

I've found that not every product does, and I don't know why. I know that it's vegan and love it. I also like FYH's sour cream.On Sun, Aug 23, 2009 at 2:16 AM, boberace <boberace wrote:

I am still learning about Veganism. Have been one for a little over a year. I love sour cream and have been looking for a vegan substitute. I though I found one, but not sure. Tofutti Sour Cream advertises on the front of the container that there are no animal derivatives, but reading the ingredients I see it contains cellulose (which I understand can be synthetically produced) and mono & diglycerides (which according to my list, comes from glycerin, which is an animal product). I also didn't see the Certified Vegan stamp. If it advertises that it contains no animal derivatives, shouldn't it be certified vegan? Please help.

-- AIM: A Blue Rose 156 YM: blue_rose_156http://x-bluerose-x.livejournal.comhttp://timeladydesigns.etsy.com

~Boston_GothicBoston_MysticBoston-Pagans

cellulose is what makes up the cell walls of all plants.

we can not digest cellulose, thats what ppl mean when they say "fiber" and roughage

it is generally added t ofood as a stabilizer

mono and diglycerides are fat derived. generally from animals. but, they can come from vegetable sources as well.