IndiaDivine.org

Thayumanavar and Bhagavan

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

Dear Ramesh,

Thank you . Once again we are in complete agreement. Thanks. All Love, in His Grace, Alan--- On Sun, 19/7/09, ramesh chivukula <ramesh_chiv wrote:

ramesh chivukula <ramesh_chivRe: Thayumanavar and Bhagavan Date: Sunday, 19 July, 2009, 2:01 PM

Dear Alan ...

As far as language is concerned am at a great disadvantage ..I cannot read or writeTelugu which is my native tongue ..I studied Tamil as a supplementary language ( but noe being my mother tongue ..i dare not lay claims to understanding the greatness of Tamil poets - there are many ...Lord Agashtya was the principal founder of the tamil language ..His treatises on medicine , spirituality , philosophy , occult sciences are just phenomenal ..

Am told that Thayumanavar poems used to sung once upon a time in every tamilian home..

Ofcourse English translations can never match the original texts ( just as we cant imagine tamil translation of Shakespeare ) ...I envy those who are proficient in ancient langauges like Sanskrit ( the mother of all ) , Tamil and Telugu...

Am trying to make up for lost time by reading tamil scriptures along with english translation. .

all love

ramesh

--- On Sun, 7/19/09, Alan Jacobs <alanadamsjacobs@ .co. uk> wrote:

Alan Jacobs <alanadamsjacobs@ .co. uk>Re: Thayumanavar and BhagavanSunday, July 19, 2009, 6:18 PM

Dear Ramesh,

Thanks for the valuable attachment of Thayumanavar' s Poetry. The Tiruvacagam of Manikka-Vacagar has been completely translated into English by G..U.Pope metrically.

Ramana Maharshi and Muruganar both loved this great poem. Appar has also been translated by Indira Peterson.

Poetry is an essential part of the Tamil tradition. All Bhagavan's written works (except where they are answers to questions) are composed as Poems. We lose so much by prosaic English translations which lose the Rasa.

Love to all,