IndiaDivine.org

Laws of Manu & vegetarianism

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

Hari bol!

I'm relatively new to Krishna consciouness and was talking to some friends about the benefits of being a vegetarian.

One of friends however, said in the the Laws of Manu (Chapter 5) that is OK to eat meat under certain sacrificial circumstances.

Can somebody provide some more light on this issue from a Krishna conscious perspective as I can't understand why there would be need to a sacrifice any animal after all that I learnt about compassion for other souls.

Thanks you in advance!

Your slow learning servant, ravi.

Guest guest

Haribol,

It is like this:

1) When we desire something, Lord reciprocates out of his mercy

2) Now Krishna does NOT want us to eat meat - but we still express desire to do so (in previous lives).

3) Therefore Krishna out of mercy allows for meat-eating in the animal sacrifice law that you talk of.

However, this animal sacrifice can only be carried out by QUALIFIED BRAHMINS...

In this age, everybody is of Sudra quality at the highest...THERE ARE NO QUALIFIED BRAHMINS...therefore NOBODY can perform these sacrifices, therefore you still suffer bad karma by eating meat in THIS AGE...

Even in the previous ages, when there were Qualified Brahmins, they would not eat meat if they were REAL Brahmins, because they would realise the sick nature of having to sacrifice an animal and offer to God. A REAL Brahmin would not perform such a sacrifice, because by nature he is PEACEFUL, and NON-VIOLENT...

Also, the Manu Law Codes also show an explicit injunction against eating meat - the four regulative principles (one of the four is not to engage in meat eating)...

Hence, anybody eating meat even if sacrificed, is using one exception to go against the well-established rule...

The one who does that surely expresses a desire to eat meat for him to ignore the rest of the Manu Law Codes, and just follow that particular law...

I hope that helps,