IndiaDivine.org

beliefs and practices

Rate this topic

Hello, I am a student at Malvern Prep in PA. I come from an Augustinian Catholic school, and am currently studying Hinduism in a Comparative Religions course based on the lectures of Huston Smith. I am writing a paper in order to deepen my understanding of the faith as much as possible, and I would like some help. I have three basic questions: What do Hindus as a community believe in regard to creed?

What type of moral path or code do Hindus work to follow?

What are members of this faith like in their devotion and practice? Are there many differences?

Thank you for your time.

Various modifications to these questions come up every few months in these forums. I'd suggest reading the topic called "Who is a Hindu?" in these forums for some sort of answer.

As for the "creed" of the Hindus, I think once you read "Who is a Hindu?" you'll find why this is very difficult to put into words. There are some general principles and beliefs that I think would apply but certainly nothing that encompases all of the beliefs of Hindus. Reincarnation and karma for instance would probably fit into a more formalized definition of Hindu beliefs.

The moral path Hindu's follow again depends on how you define a Hindu. But I think that the belief in karma, would in general suggest a view that we ultimately reap what we sow. And thus one should behave morally.

Regarding devotion, yes there are various manifestations of this depending on again "Who is a Hindu?". For some, devotion takes the form of awe and reverence, for others devotion is much less formal.

I know I haven't fully answered your questions, but hopefully others will chime in and help you out.

Gauracandra