IndiaDivine.org

sacrifices and bhakti-yoga

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Dear fellow vaishnavas

Please accept my humble obeisences.

I am new to the path of Bhakti-yoga. I have been practicing bhakti-yoga for the past 18 months or so.

I have a sincere desire to make spiritual advancement. I realize that Bhakti-yoga often needs the saadhaka to make sacrifices. For the past one year or so, in order that i make spiritual advancement in the true sense, i have made a decision to put all that i earn (that remains from my income after paying bills of my basic necessities) in the direct service of Krishna.

Recently, i have been put by the Lord in a situation where i had to choose between my long time partner whom i love very much and bhakti-yoga. And i have chosen bhakti-yoga - the path of Krishna because i know that is the right thing to do. Although i have done this, my heart is in deep pain over this. This is the biggest sacrifice i have ever done - leave the person whom i loved very deeply.

It has been very difficult to cope. However, i do try to read, chant as normal which helps me cope. But then i go through depressed moments too.

My depression comes from the question that arises in my mind "what if i do not well enough on the path of bhakti and get nowhere? if that happens, then that would mean i neither lived the material existence properly nor the spiritual."

My dear vaishnava brothers and sisters, could you please share with me your own experiences about how you dealt with testing and trying times and how you manage to stay steadfast on this spiritual path? What motivates and inspires you to be steadfast on the path?

Please share with me something that will put me out of my misery that i feel for having to make the biggest sacrifice.

Please pardon me if you find my sob story of no spiritual value.

I will appreciate any thing that could inspire me to remain steadfast and determined and helps me feel worthy

Yours in the service of Krishna

krishna-lila