IndiaDivine.org

Steven Rosen(Satyaraja das) Researching Hindu-Star Wars Connections Requests Info

Rate this topic

krsna

rosen108@mac.com

USA, April 20, 2005: Steven Rosen writes:

"Greetings! I am an author with 20 published books to my credit, mainly

on Eastern philosophy. I have recently completed a manuscript entitled

'The Jedi in the Lotus: Seeing Star Wars Through a Hindu Lens.' As the

title suggests, the book surveys all of the many parallels and overlaps

between Lucas's epic series and the Hindu tradition. I have explored

the Campbell connection at length and I believe I have mined the depths

of most other correlations between Jedi lore and the ancient religion.

My request is this: I have for many years heard that Lucas himself

admitted that the Ramayana, the Mahabharata, and other Indian myths

heavily influenced his initial creation of the Star Wars series. I need

to know if there is indeed a statement out there to this effect.

Please, if you do not yourself know, send out feelers for me and have

people reply directly to 'source' above."

What is the point of this? I don't want to be critical for no reason, but it sounds to me like he has his conclusion and is trying to find evidence to support it.

I don't know about the first 3 Star Wars, but certainly the last one (technically Episode 2, though the 5th movie) had Indian influences. For instance, the Queens name is Padme (from Padma or Lotus). There were a few other names that had sanskrit connotations (can't remember off hand). I do remember that during Episode 2 during a big fight scene with Obi Wan and the dark sith I think, there is singing in the background that is clearly sanskrit. The only word I could make out was death I think (mritya).

• 4 weeks later...
Guest guest

"What is the point of this? I don't want to be critical for no reason, but it sounds to me like he has his conclusion and is trying to find evidence to support it.